Forgotten Flemish Master comes home

A world-class painter, whose work hangs in the most prestigious museums: it’s Adriaen Brouwer. They will soon leave renowned private and public collections in Europe and America to travel to Oudenaarde. This is the very first time that just under half of his seventy works will be united. The fact that this event is also being organised in Brouwer’s birthplace makes it all the more special.

Brouwer was already famous and his works were highly prized during his lifetime. Even the greats, such as Rubens and Rembrandt were fervent collectors of his work. What’s more, his paintings are a genuine delight to behold. A true feast for the eyes. Brouwer’s work is also compared to that of his contemporaries and successors such as Frans Hals, David Teniers and Joos van Craesbeeck.

It promises to be the ultimate experience in Oudenaarde. And you can be there!

Adriaen Brouwer tentoonstelling in MOU Oudenaarde: De rugoperatie - Städel Museum, Frankfurt
The Back Surgery - Städel Museum, Frankfurt

“Adriaen Brouwer is more than a cliché. He stands for the portrayal of emotions and temperament at the highest possible level.”

– Manfred Sellink (director of KMSKA) –

Do not miss this opportunity to experience Brouwer

Oudenaarde boasts many tourist attractions, but this year it is focusing entirely on Adriaen Brouwer, one of our very own citizens, of whom we are immensely proud! Unfortunately Oudenaarde does not own a permanent collection of Brouwer pieces, and this is exactly why the Adriaen Brouwer exhibition is a totally unique event. It is the first time that just under half of Brouwer’s works will be transported from various international museums to the MOU Museum in Oudenaarde. So don’t delay and purchase your ticket now for this impressive exhibition!

cultural city festival ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’

Rubens inspireert. Cultureel stadsfestival Antwerpen

The cultural city festival ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ pays homage to Peter Paul Rubens and his Baroque, cultural heritage. During the festival, the spotlight will be on Peter Paul Rubens, one of the most influential artists ever and the most famous inhabitant of Antwerp. He personifies the Baroque period and is an important source of inspiration for contemporary artists and the atypical lifestyle of the city and its inhabitants. ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ tells a story about the Baroque, in the past and the present, and creates a dialogue between historic Baroque and the work of contemporary artists. With the city of Antwerp and the world as its décor. ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ is a key event in VisitFlanders’ Flemish Masters programme. It promises to be explicitly extroverted and to combine artistic originality with authentic hospitality.

Le maître flamand oublié rentre au pays

Adriaen Brouwer, un grand peintre dont les œuvres sont exposées aux cimaises des grands musées. Issues de collections privées et publiques réputées en Europe et aux États-Unis, elles feront bientôt le déplacement à Audenarde. Une petite moitié de ses quelque 70 œuvres sera rassemblée pour la première fois. Que cet événement puisse de surcroît se dérouler dans la ville natale de Brouwer ne le rend que plus beau.

Brouwer était déjà célèbre de son vivant ; ses œuvres étaient très appréciées. Même les plus grands, comme Rubens et Rembrandt, en détenaient certaines. Ses tableaux sont réjouissants à regarder. Un vrai régal pour les yeux. L’œuvre de Brouwer est aussi comparé à celui de contemporains et disciples tels que Frans Hals, David Teniers, Joos van Craesbeeck.

Audenarde va faire la fête à l’enfant du pays. Et vous pouvez être de la partie !

Audenarde va faire la fête à l’enfant du pays. Et vous pouvez être de la partie !
Vous pouvez visiter l’exposition Adriaen Brouwer – maître des émotions du 15 septembre au 16 décembre dans le Musée MOU à Audenarde.

Adriaen Brouwer tentoonstelling in MOU Oudenaarde: De rugoperatie - Städel Museum, Frankfurt
La chirurgie du dos - Städel Museum, Frankfurt

« Adriaen Brouwer est plus qu’un cliché. Il incarne l’imaginaire des émotions et du tempérament au plus haut niveau. »

– Manfred Sellink (directeur du KMSKA, Anvers) –

Ne manquez pas cette occasion

Audenarde n’est pas avare d’atouts touristiques, mais cette année c’est Adriaen Brouwer, notre concitoyen, que nous mettons à l’honneur ! Malheureusement, Audenarde ne possède pas de collection permanente d’œuvres de Brouwer. L’exposition Adriaen Brouwer a donc valeur d’événement exceptionnel. C’est la première fois qu’une petite moitié des œuvres de Brouwer provenant de divers musées internationaux seront transférées au Musée du MOU à Audenarde. Ne manquez pas cette occasion et achetez votre billet pour cette impressionnante exposition !

festival culturel ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’

Rubens inspireert. Cultureel stadsfestival Antwerpen

Le festival culturel ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ rend hommage à Pierre Paul Rubens et son héritage baroque. Un des peintres les plus influents de tous les temps et l’enfant le plus célèbre de la ville sera donc la vedette incontestée du festival. Pierre Paul Rubens incarne en effet le baroque et est une source d’inspiration inépuisable pour les artistes contemporains et le style de vie atypique de la ville et de ses habitants. ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ raconte l’histoire du baroque, autrefois et aujourd’hui et met ce grand mouvement stylistique en dialogue avec les plasticiens actuels. Avec la ville et le monde comme décor. ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ est un événement majeur du programme que consacre Toerisme Vlaanderen aux Maîtres flamands et promet de combiner la singularité artistique de cette ville et sa légendaire hospitalité.